Candidate Login
Forgot password






What is IELTS?

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is the world's most popular English language proficiency test for higher education and global migration, with over 2.9 million tests taken in the past year. In Malaysia, the British Council offers IELTS tests in 9 states across Malaysia, up to three times a month. IELTS respects international diversity and is fair to anyone who sits the test, regardless of nationality.

Test for all

You can choose from two types of IELTS test: Academic or General Training, depending on whether you want to study, work or migrate. Both modules are made up of four parts - Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. IELTS results are graded on the unique IELTS 9-band scale.

Accessible and convenient

IELTS is offered up to four times a month in more than 125 countries. Tests are usually on Saturdays or Thursdays. To find out test dates in your area, please contact your nearest IELTS test centre. A list of all IELTS test centres worldwide is available at

The international test

IELTS is internationally focused in its content. For example, a range of native-speaker accents (North American, Australian, New Zealand, and British) is used in the Listening test, and all standard varieties of English are accepted in candidates' responses in all parts of the test.

The test that's tried and trusted

You can trust the quality and security of IELTS because it is managed by three reputable, international organisations: British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge English Language Assessment. IELTS has been developed by some of the world's leading experts in language assessment, and is supported by an extensive programme of research, validation and test development.

Global recognition

IELTS is the world's proven test. Due to its high quality controls, IELTS is accepted by thousands of organisations in over 135 countries.
  • Universities, schools, training colleges, tertiary institutes
  • Government departments and agencies
  • Professional and industry bodies
  • Multinational companies and employers

Test Modules

The IELTS test has four parts - Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking modules. There is a choice of Reading and Writing modules - Academic or General Training.
Choose the Academic Module if you are planning to undertake higher education study, or choose the General Training Module if you are considering non-academic training, work experience or require IELTS for immigration purposes.

Test Format

Why IELTS with the British Council

  • Test fee includes free access to a 30-hour online preparation course - Road to IELTS.
  • Over 2.9 million tests taken globally in the past year.
  • Results in only 13 days and also available online.
  • The best test conditions - clean and comfortable venues, excellent sound system and free stationery

Start your journey to international study or employment with an IELTS score.
© British Council